1. Blog
  2. »
  3. Dr. Pillai
  4. »
  5. How to Meditate on...


For me, the most important day each year is this Night of Shiva (Maha Shivaratri). It’s the day that Shiva gives an opportunity for everyone to merge with His consciousness.

You’ll become Shiva Himself.

Tamil Nadu, where I live, is considered the land of Shiva. There are thousands of temples for Him.

Shiva Seeks to End the Cycle of Birth, Death, & Suffering

Shiva really cried when the world was created. That’s because the world, the earth plane, from birth to death, is represented by pain. That’s why when a child is born, it cries, and when a person dies, he cries.

In between, there are moments of pleasure coming from money, food, and sex, but that’s fleeting. Eventually, we are marched to the grave or crematorium. That’s why Shiva cried and said, “This will come to an end. We shall all work together for the evolution of the human race to reach a level of evolution where the body will not process pain. We’ll all be Angels with a Light Body.”


Method 1: Offer Bilva Leaves for Lord Shiva to Feed Him

Bilva leaves are the most sacred leaves. They are, unfortunately, not widely available in the West, but are available plentifully in India.

If you put one Bilva leaf on a Shiva Lingam on the Night of Shiva, it will do a world of good for you and your family.

Method 2: Do the Namah Shivaya Meditation

You can take advantage of this great mantra, Namah Shivaya, particularly on Shivaratri Night. Even if you don’t meditate on other days, please make sure you meditate on this day and keep the vigil. You’ll see the difference.

This one mantra is called the Maha Mantra. It’s the greatest mantra that can give you the power of all the five elements – Earth, Air, Fire, Water, Space/Ether/Spirit. The 5 elements are extremely powerful. They are within you and without you. That connection will established through the practice of this mantra.


Close your eyes. Chant each syllable for a few seconds while focusing on each of the chakras.

At the bottom of the spine – NAAAAH

Move to the navel – MAAAAH

Move to the heart – SHEEEE

Move to the throat, the mouth – VAAAAAH

Move to the two eyes, and then the Third Eye and the brain – YAAAAAH

That’s less than a minute.

You will have a world of benefits come to you. It will burn your karma, your maya, and your ego. If you do it all through the Night of Shiva, this is enough.

Learn More about The Great Night of Shiva


« »