1. Blog
  2. »
  3. Archetypes
  4. »
  5. Ashta Lakshmi | Eight...


Ashta Lakshmi

Lakshmi or Maha Lakshmi is the Hindu goddess of wealth. She is one of the important deities of Hinduism and is one of the female trinity goddesses, the other being Saraswathi and Parvati.

Maha Lakshmi is worshipped all over India, particularly by the business community, as she symbolizes fortune and prosperity. She is worshipped in different forms like Ashta Lakshmi, Vara Lakshmi, Sowbaghya Lakshmi, Vaibhava Lakshmi, and many more.

Ashta Lakshmi is a popular form of Lakshmi. The word ‘Ashta’ refers to eight; thus, the term Ashta Lakshmi means Eight Lakshmis. Ashta Lakshmis is represented in eight different forms, and each of the eight Lakshmi bestows a particular form of wealth to the devotee.

Ashta Lakshmi worship has gained huge popularity. Many Stotras and lakshmi moola mantra are praising the eight forms of Goddess Lakshmi.

Ashta Lakshmi

List of Ashta Lakshmi

The following are the eight forms of Lakshmi who are part of the Ashta Lakshmi.

  • Adi Lakshmi
  • Dhana Lakshmi
  • Dhanya Lakshmi
  • Gaja Lakshmi
  • Santana Lakshmi
  • Veera/Dhairya Lakshmi
  • Jaya/Vijaya Lakshmi
  • Vidya Lakshmi

Let us see about each of the Ashta Lakshmi manifestations in detail.

Adi Lakshmi

Adi Lakshmi is the ancient form of Goddess Lakshmi and bestows spiritual wealth. She has four arms, while her upper arms hold a lotus and a white flag; the lower arms display Abhaya mudra and Varada mudra. Adi Laxmi helps a seeker to attain his source, i.e.,’ atman’ or consciousness. Her blessings help an individual to practice meditation successfully and realize the state of absolute bliss.

Dhana Lakshmi

Dhana Lakshmi is popular among the Eight forms of Lakshmi and is the goddess of wealth. She is Four-armed and wears red garments. She holds Sudarshana Chakra, Conch, Amrita Kalasha (a pitcher containing Amrita – the elixir of life), and displays the Abhaya mudra with gold coins dripping from it. Dhana Lakshmi helps the devotees in their quench for more wealth.

Dhanya Lakshmi

In her manifestation as Dhanya Lakshmi, the goddess is depicted with eight arms carrying two lotuses, mace, paddy crop, sugarcane, bananas, and her two hands showing the Abhaya mudra and Varada mudra. Dhanya Laxmi wears green garments and represents agricultural fertility. Devotees invoke her for the successful cultivation of crops and abundant rainfall.

Gaja Lakshmi

Gaja Lakshmi blesses with luxury and royalty. Indra, the Hindu demi-god for heaven, got back his lost position and wealth by praying to this form of the goddess. Gaja Lakshmi is also the giver of animal wealth. She has four arms, wears red garments, and is surrounded by two elephants bathing her with water pots. Gaja Lakshmi carries two lotuses in her upper arms and shows Abhaya mudra and Varada mudra in her lower arms.

Santana Lakshmi

Santana Lakshmi is the goddess of progeny (bestowing offspring). Santana Lakshmi is six-armed, carrying two kalashas, a sword, shield and shows Abhaya mudra in one hand and holds a child in the other hand. Devotees pray to her to be blessed with good and competent children.

Veera / Dhairya Lakshmi

Veera Lakshmi or Dhairya Lakshmi bestows bravery and courage. During ancient times, the kings worshipped her to gain victory in the battles. Veera Lakshmi gives the courage to face a difficult situation in life. She wears red garments and is eight-armed, carrying a chakra, conch, bow, arrow, sword, palm leaf manuscripts, and shows Abhaya mudra and Varada mudra.

Vijaya / Jaya Lakshmi

Vijaya Lakshmi or Jaya Lakshmi is the goddess for victory in battles. Her blessing helps to overcome the hurdles of life. She is depicted wearing red garments and is eight-armed, carrying the chakra, conch, sword, shield, lotus, pasha, other showing the Abhaya mudra and Varada mudra in her two hands.

Vidya Lakshmi

Vidya Lakshmi (“Knowledge Lakshmi”) is the goddess and bestower of arts and sciences knowledge. She is dressed in a white saree and has a resemblance to the goddess Saraswati. She holds a book of Vedas, a peacock feather as a pen, Vvarada mudra (hand for bestowing boons), and Abhaya mudra (the hand that signals “Do not fear”)

Benefits of worshipping Ashta Lakshmi

The following are the main benefits of worshipping Ashta Lakshmi

  • The Ashta Lakshmi bless you with eight forms of wealth.
  • The goddesses’ grace will help to face the problems in life with courage.
  • The blessings of eight goddesses will protect you as a shield.

Ashta Lakshmi

Activities for Ashta Lakshmi Puja

Following is the sequence of activities during the Ashta Lakshmi Puja.

  • First, invoke Lord Ganesha and do puja to him.
  • Place the portrait of Ashta Lakshmi on a pedestal.
  • Take a Kalash (a small pot) and pour some pure water into it.
  • Mix a small amount of turmeric in that water.
  • Place mango leaves on the outer edge of the Kalash.
  • Take a coconut and smear it with turmeric and kumkum.
  • Close the mouth of the Kalash with a turmeric-smeared coconut.
  • Draw Swastik and tilak on the Kalash and the coconut using vermillion.
  • Light a ghee lamp and light some nice incense sticks.
  • Garland the Ashta Lakshmi portrait and put some flowers on the Kalash.
  • Pray to Ashta Lakshmi and request them to come and enter the Kalash
  • Offer prasad (divine offering) to the Goddesses (fruits, milk, or pure sweets).
  • Recite the Ashta Lakshmi mantras, slokas, and chant her eight names.
  • While reciting the mantras and slokas, perform Archana to the portrait and the Kalash using flowers and Kum Kum.
  • Pray sincerely to the eight Goddesses and earnestly appeal to her to dissolve your problems.
  • The pooja is over, and you can eat the prasad and then distribute it to your family and friends.

Importance of Ashta Lakshmi

Proper worship and sincere prayers to Ashta Lakshmi will help you to succeed in life. They will act as guardian angels and protect you. Furthermore, each of these Eight Lakshmis’ blesses with a particular type of wealth.

Devotees praying to Ashta Lakshmi are blessed with eight different forms of wealth.

« »