1. Blog
  2. »
  3. Dr. Pillai
  4. »
  5. Significance of Chaitra Navratri

Significance of Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra Navaratri is a major Hindu festival that is celebrated for nine long days. People offer special prayers to Goddess during these nine days and worship her nine different forms. Lord Rama, the seventh avatar of Maha Vishnu and Hanuman are also worshipped during this time.

When does Chaitra Navratri Occur

The Vasantha Navaratri festivities begin on the ‘pratipada’ (1st day) and ends on the ‘navami’ (9th day) of the Chaitra month’s Shukla Paksha (the bright fortnight of moon) period. The ‘Chaitra’ month is the first month of the Hindu calendar, the festival falls during the months between March-April of the English Calendar.

Join Now

The Other names of Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra Navratri is also known as ‘Vasanta Navratri’ (Vasanta is the spring season) or ‘Rama Navratri’ as the ninth day of the Navratri festivity is celebrated as Rama Navami, the birthday of Lord Rama. The puja rituals and religious customs followed during this festival are very similar to the ones of the ‘Shardiya Navratri’.

Which Goddess is worshipped

During the first three days of Vasanta Navratri, the devotees worship Durga, Lord Shiva’s consort and the Goddess for power, on the following next three days, they worship Lakshmi, the wife of Lord Maha Vishnu and Goddess of wealth, and on the last three days of the festival devotees offer prayers to Saraswati, Lord Brahma’s wife and Goddess of Knowledge.

The Nine Day Puja Rituals

On each of the nine days of Vasanta Navaratri, devotees perform special puja rituals. Each day one form of Goddess is worshipped. The thithi name and the rituals performed on the nine days are given below for your knowledge purposes.

  • Navaratri Day 1 – Pratipada is the first day. The ‘Ghatasthapana’ ritual indicating the commencement of the festival is performed. ‘Chandra Darshan’ and ‘Shailputri Puja happen on the first day.
  • Navaratri Day 2 – The second day is Dwitiya and the ‘Sindhara Dooj’ and ‘Brahmacharini Puja’ are performed on this day.
  • Navaratri Day 3 – Teej – The devotees observe the third day as ‘Gauri Teej’ or ‘Sauhagya Teej’. The main ritual for the third day is ‘Chandraghanta Puja’.
  • Navaratri Day 4 – The fourth day is Chaturthi. On this day, the devotees observe the ‘Kushmanda Puja’ on this day.
  • Navaratri Day 5 – The fifth day Panchami is the marked day to perform ‘Naag Puja’ and ‘Skandamata Puja’.
  • Navaratri Day 6 – Shashthi, the sixth day is ideal to perform the ‘Katyayani Puja’.
  • Navaratri Day 7 – Saptami – The seventh day of the Vasanta Navaratri is known as ‘Maha Saptami’ (the great seventh day) and the ‘Kalratri Puja’ is performed on this day.
  • Navaratri Day 8 – Ashtami – eight day is an important day of the Chaitra Navaratri festival and is also known as ‘Annapurna Ashtami’. Devotees observe ‘Mahagauri Puja’ and ‘Sandhi Puja’ on this day.
  • Navaratri Day 9 – Navami – The last day of the Chaitra Navratri festival is ‘Rama Navami’ the birth of Rama, an important avatar of Maha Vishnu. The puja performed on this day is known as ‘Siddhidatri Maha Puja’.

Buy Now

2022 Vasanta Navaratri

The 2022 Vasanta Navaratri dates, along with the respective puja names are given below.

2nd April: Shailputri Puja

3rd April: Brahmacharini Puja

4th April: Chandraghanta Puja

5th April: Kushmanda Puja

6th April: Skandmata Puja

7th April: Katyayani Puja

8th April: Kalratri Puja

9th April: Mahagauri Puja, Durgashtami

10th April: Siddhidatri Puja

Buy Now

« »